Although proof sets exist for dates going back to the early 1800’s, “modern” proof sets have been issued by the U.S. Mint since 1936.  They were then issued through and including 1942, when both a 5-piece set (standard nickel) and a 6-piece set (both a standard nickel and a 35% silver “wartime” nickel).  Production of proof sets was then suspended until 1950, when they were resumed and issued continually through 1964.  No proof sets were issued in 1965 through 1967.  However, in those years, “special mint sets”, which have a proof-like surface, were issued.  Proof sets were then resumed in 1968 and have been issued each year through the present.


U.S. Mint government- issued mint sets were initiated in 1947.  These include both a “P” and “D” of each coin for its respective year.  The early mint sets of 1947 to 1958 actually included two of each “P” and “D” coin, resulting in four of each denomination.


Through the years, the Mint has issued other specialty proof sets such as Prestige, modern silver sets, Premium silver sets, American Legacy sets, Presidential sets and Silver Limited Edition sets, which vary as to the additional coins they include.


If you have  question about any set, please give us a call at 720-684-8256.

Contact Us Now!